Narathiwat declared disaster zone

Authorities declared Narathiwat a disaster zone late Thursday evening after almost the entire area of this southern province was hit by flooding triggered by four consecutive days of heavy rains.

  • Published: 28/02/2013 at 09:52 PM
  • Newspaper section: breakingnews

The announcement was issued in 12 of the province’s 13 districts including Muang Narathiwat, Chanae, Cho Airong, Rangae, Rueso, Si Sakhon, Sukhirin, Sungai Kolok, Sungai Padi, Tak Bai, Waeng and Yi-ngo.

Bacho is the only district that is not flooded.  

On Wednesday, relentless downpours triggered flooding in 27 tambons of Sungai Kolok, Si Sakhon, Chanae, Waeng, Cho Airong, Rueso and Tak Bai districts and almost 2,000 households were affected.

The flood waters reportedly began to gradually decrease in the affected areas after the rain stopped on Thursday. The most severe flooding was along the banks of Sungai Kolok River, where 1.90 metres of floodwater still inundate the area. 

About the author

Writer: Online Reporters
Position: Online Reporters

Latest stories in this category