Drought declared in 15 provinces | Bangkok Post: Most recent

Most Recent >

Drought declared in 15 provinces

- +

A total of 2,667 villages in 59 districts of 15 provinces have been declared drought disaster zones in need of urgent help, Disaster Prevention and Mitigation Department chief Chatchai Promlert announced on Thursday. 

The 15 provinces are Uttaradit, Sukhothai, Phrae and Tak in the North; Buri Ram, Maha Sarakham, Khon Kaen and Si Sa Ket in the Northeast; Sing Buri, Saraburi and Chai Nat in the Central region; Chachoengsao, Chanthaburi and Prachin Buri in the East; and, Trang in the South.

Mr Chatchai said his department had prepared officials and equipment including water trucks and water pumps to be dispatched to drought-hit areas to provide relief assistance.

Keep up-to-date with the latest on coup d'etat with Bangkok Post SMS News. Call *451391000 to subscribe – 39 baht/month (7 days free, available in Thailand only) Bangkok Post SMS News: Deliver only trustworthy news on SMS

This article is older than 60 days, which we reserve for our premium members only.You can subscribe to our premium member subscription, here.

0 people commented about the above

Readers are urged not to submit comments that may cause legal dispute including slanderous, vulgar or violent language, incorrectly spelt names, discuss moderation action, quotes with no source or anything deemed critical of the monarchy. More information in our terms of use.

Please use our forum for more candid, lengthy, conversational and open discussion between one another.

  • Latest
  • Oldest
  • Most replied to
  • Most liked
  • Most disliked

    Click here to view more comments