Former MPs rescind immunity to fight against Yingluck government | Bangkok Post: news

News >

Nine Democrat MPs officially resign

- +

Nine MPs of the Democrat Party officially handed in their resignations as members of parliament on Tuesday, rescinding their parliamentary immunity to fight as ordinary people in a protest against the amnesty bill. 

They are Suthep Thaugsuban of Surat Thani, Thaworn Senneam of Songkhla, Sathit Wongnongtoey of Trang, Witthaya Kaewparadai of Nakhon Si Thammarat, Chumpol Julasai of Chumphon, Putthipong Punnakant of Bangkok, Ekanat Prompan of Bangkok, Nathapol Teepsuwan of Bangkok and Issara Somchai, a party list MP.

Mr Suthep said they said they would fight within the law and were ready to defend themselves within the justice system if legal action were taken against them.

This article is older than 60 days, which we reserve for our premium members only.You can subscribe to our premium member subscription, here.

2 people commented about the above

Readers are urged not to submit comments that may cause legal dispute including slanderous, vulgar or violent language, incorrectly spelt names, discuss moderation action, quotes with no source or anything deemed critical of the monarchy. More information in our terms of use.

Please use our forum for more candid, lengthy, conversational and open discussion between one another.

  • Latest
  • Oldest
  • Most replied to
  • Most liked
  • Most disliked

    Click here to view more comments