Netherlands' Dijsselbloem elected new Eurogroup head | Bangkok Post: news

News > World

Netherlands' Dijsselbloem elected new Eurogroup head

- +

Jeroen Dijsselbloem of the Netherlands took over on Tuesday as chairman of the key eurozone finance ministers forum, despite surprise Spanish resistance. 

Dutch Finance Minister Jeroen Dijsselbloem (L) and Luxembourg Prime Minister Jean-Claude Juncker talk prior to a Eurogroup meeting on January 21, 2013 at the EU Headquarters in Brussels. Eurozone finance ministers elected Dijsselbloem to replace Juncker as chairman of the key Eurogroup, Juncker's spokesman said on Monday.

"We appointed the Dutch finance minister Jeroen Dijsselbloem to become the new president of the Eurogroup," outgoing head Jean-Claude Juncker told a press conference late on Monday.

This article is older than 60 days, which we reserve for our premium members only.You can subscribe to our premium member subscription, here.

0 people commented about the above

Readers are urged not to submit comments that may cause legal dispute including slanderous, vulgar or violent language, incorrectly spelt names, discuss moderation action, quotes with no source or anything deemed critical of the monarchy. More information in our terms of use.

Please use our forum for more candid, lengthy, conversational and open discussion between one another.

  • Latest
  • Oldest
  • Most replied to
  • Most liked
  • Most disliked

    Click here to view more comments