Remembering the first tabloid strip queen | Bangkok Post: opinion

Opinion > All-Article

Latest updates

  • post scriptRemembering the first tabloid strip queen

    01 Feb 2015 : Following last week’s column concerning premature reports of the demise of The Sun’s Page 3 girls, it seems only fair to point out the noble deeds of an ageless beauty who appeared in a rival tabloid in a different era.

  • EDITORIALLeaders must face up to their critics

    01 Feb 2015 : Last week’s brief outage of Facebook and Instagram probably annoyed selfie-centric Sukhumvit slickers more than anyone else. But spare a thought for the civil servants who work in the Department of Provincial Administration. On Friday, as most were looking to a post-pay day weekend, it was revealed the department head Krissada Boonrat had issued a ban on the use of Facebook, Line and other social media on work computers and devices. The use of email would also be restricted to government business.

All Stories

  • COMMENTARY

    The iron grip will tighten, so the stars say

    27 Dec 2014 : Dear Leader, born March 21, 1954. A Pisces, our Dear Leader was born in the Year of the Snake, and zodiacally destined for valour, patriotism, decisiveness, songwriting talent, unconstitutional dignity, offbeat humour, banana-throwing antics (to the cheers of reporters) and occasional outbursts of temper when those same reporters don't ask him glorifying questions.

  • EDITORIAL

    Witch-hunts will backfire

    27 Dec 2014 : The government must rein in an overzealous tendency to prosecute people or have them prosecute one another in the name of national security and protection of the monarchy.

  • psychology

    An ancient practice to suit modern needs

    27 Dec 2014 : Five years ago, Chulalongkorn Medical School graduates heard the news that one of their former psychiatric faculty members, Sermsak Lolak, had been recruited to join the prestigious faculty of Stanford University Medical School. They must have assumed that Dr Sermsak would excel in the technical practice of matching pills to mental ills.

  • Postbag

    Cops squeeze us dry

    26 Dec 2014 : It’s been seven full months since Gen Prayut Chan-o-cha took power, with strong PDRC backing to fight corruption — yet only one top cop has been charged with anything.

  • thailand

    Virtual lockdown to spill over into 2015

    26 Dec 2014 : In the wake of a deceptive calm following the military coup on May 22, prospects for next year are characterised by anxiety and apprehension over what is to come.

  • EDITORIAL

    End graft to end slavery

    26 Dec 2014 : The government's plans to issue more rules and regulations to combat human trafficking are bound to come to nothing when the crux of the problem remains untouched — corruption.

  • Development

    Shape our future with radical goals

    26 Dec 2014 : Let us imagine for a moment that we could change the world according to our wishes. Dramatic economic inequality gives way to social and political inclusion. Universal human rights become a reality. We end deforestation and the destruction of arable land. Fish stocks recover. Two billion people look forward to a life without poverty, hunger, and violence. Rather than paying lip service to climate change and resource scarcity, we start to respect and uphold the limits of our planet and its atmosphere.

  • GURU ASKS: THE WORD

    New Year

    26 Dec 2014 : What are some things Thais can look forward to in the New Year?

  • GURU EDITOR'S NOTE

    15 wishes for 2015

    26 Dec 2014 : Well, Guru has somehow made it to our last issue of 2014. The year has been a blur of procrastinating by sleeping under our desks, copious amounts of vodka, and lots of grammatical mistakes – but hey, we hope you were mildly entertained and that your birds enjoyed having our pages line their cages.    

  • POSTBAG

    Fresh air failure

    25 Dec 2014 : In many ways Bangkok is already a well-developed city. But the quality of life in a big city depends on the availability of fresh air.

Bangkok Post print edition sections

Stay updated everywhere, anytime with Bangkok Post digital products