Cold spell continues in 14 provinces

The cold spell continues in 14 provinces which have been declared emergency disaster zones, the Disaster Prevention and Mitigation Department reported on Wednesday.

A total of 3,923,425 people in 8,374 villages of 123 districts in these provinces were being affected, it said.
The provinces are Chiang Mai, Mae Hong Son, Chiang Rai, Phayao, Phrae, Nan, Lamphun, Lampang, Uttaradit, Tak, Phetchabun, Loei, Nong Bua Lamphu and Mukdahan.

The department also reported that a severe drought continues in another 25 provinces which also have been declared emergency disaster zones, affecting people in 18,358 villages in 276 districts.

These provinces are Nakhon Sawan, Kalasin, Loei, Udon Thani, Bueng Khan, Nong Bua Lamphu, Maha Sarakham, Yasothon, Amnatcharoen, Nakhon Phanom, Chaiyaphum, Khon Kaen, Buri Ram, Nakhon Ratchasima, Ubon Ratchathani, Surin, Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai, Lamphun, Sukhothai, Phitsanulok, Phrae, Uttaradit, Phayao, Phichit, Tak and Chanthaburi.

The drought had eased in five provinces and the emergency zone declaration had been revoked for Nong Khai, Mukdahan, Sakhon Nakhon, Roi Et and Si Sa Ket.

Related search: cold spell, drought, emergency disaster zone,

About the author

Writer: Online Reporters
Position: Online Reporters