Cold spell, drought hit provinces

A total of 14 provinces hit by severe cold weather have been declared emergency disaster zones, the Disaster Prevention and Mitigation Department reported on Saturday.

Nearly four million people in these provinces were being affected, it said.

The provinces are Chiang Mai, Mae Hong Son, Chiang Rai, Phayao, Lampang, Lamphun, Phrae, Nan, Tak, Uttaradit, Loei, Nong Bua Lamphu, Mukdahan and Phetchabun.

The department also reported that another 33 provinces were being hit by drought and have been declared emergency disaster zones.

They are Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai, Sukhothai, Phayao, Lamphun, Tak, Phichit, Phrae, Nan, Uttaradit, Pitsanulok, Kampaengphet, Nakhon Sawan, Kalasin, Udon Thani, Buengkhan, Mahasarakham, Yasothon, Amnatcharoen, Chaiyaphum, Khon Kaen, Buriram, Nakhon Ratchasima, Ubon Ratchathani, Surin, Nong Bua Lamphu, Loei, Mukdahan, Roi-Et, Chachoengsao, Prachinburi, Chanthaburi and Satun.

The number of drought hit provinces was up from 23 the department reported on Feb 1.

About the author

Writer: Online Reporters
Position: Online Reporters