Date set for new season

The 2014 Thai Premier League season will kick off on Feb 15 and end on Nov 2, the TPL announced yesterday.

There will be 20 teams, two more than the current season, after a legal struggle between Si Sa Ket and Isan United, said TPL chairman Vichit Yamboonruang.

Si Sa Ket, who won the legal battle, will remain in the top flight next season with only one team relegated to League One at the end of this season.

There will not be a mid-season break due to the increase in the number of teams and the national team's participation in the Asian Games, he said.

Each team is allowed to have three Asian players and five from outside the continent on its books but can have three foreigners and one Asian on the pitch at the same time, he said.

The 2013 season will end on Sunday with Buriram United already securing the title.

About the author

Writer: Tor Chittinand
Position: Reporter