NACC to announce Yingluck 'compensation' fate in September

NACC to announce Yingluck 'compensation' fate in September

The National Anti-Corruption Commission (NACC) expects to wrap up its probe into alleged dereliction of duty by 34 former cabinet members in the Yingluck Shinawatra administration, including the ex-premier herself, by September.

Ms Yingluck and 33 former cabinet ministers have been accused of failing to perform their duties as required under a 1957 Act on budget processes when they approved the payment of financial compensation worth 1.9 billion baht to a number of people affected by political demonstrations from 2005 and 2010, Supa Piyajitti, chairwoman of the NACC's sub-committee handling the investigation into the case, said Wednesday.

The 34 former cabinet members have been accused of paying the compensation to people seen as their political supporters although they did not have the authority to do so as there was no law allowing it, said Ms Supa.

The two-part National Anti-Corruption Commission (NACC) charges refer to:

  • "Unlawful awarding of compensation of 7.5 million baht for each protester killed during the 2005-2010 political violence", and
  • "Unlawful awarding of compensation to alleged political criminals who are mainly in her clique".

This case is being processed along with several others against the former premier, and the NACC expects to decide on whether to find the 34 former cabinet members guilty of dereliction of duty and whether to pursue further legal action against them by September.

In May, 2015, the NACC voted to assign a sub-committee to charge the 34 former cabinet members with dereliction of duty after finding two cabinet resolutions, on Jan 10, 2012 and March 6 the same year, to allow compensation payments to people affected by political protests from 2005 and 2010 were illegitimate, said an informed source.

As they did not have any existing laws to authorise these cabinet members to approve the payments, they created new rules of their own, which is seen as a wrongful act, according to the same informed source.

The 34 former members include Ms Yingluck; Yongyuth Wichaidit, Chalerm Ubumrung and Yutthasak Sasiprapa, all former deputy prime ministers; Kittiratt Na-Ranong, a former deputy prime minister and a former finance minister; Worawat Auapinyakul, a former PM's Office minister; Nalinee Thavisin and Niwattumrong Boonsongpaisan, both former PM's Office ministers; Surapong Tovichakchaikul, a former foreign minister; Tanusak Lek-uthai and Wirun Techapaiboon, both former deputy finance ministers, Theera Wongsamut, a former agriculture and cooperatives minister; Nattawut Saikuar, a former deputy agriculture and cooperatives minister; Charupong Ruangsuwan, a former transport minister; Chatt Kuldiloke and Chadchart Sittipunt, both former deputy transport ministers; Boonsong Teriyapirom, a former commerce minister.

Do you like the content of this article?

Alec Baldwin at centre of on-set shooting tragedy

Hollywood star Alec Baldwin was the focus on Friday of investigations into a shocking and deadly on-set tragedy, after the actor fired a prop gun that killed a cinematographer and wounded the director of a Western he was shooting in New Mexico.

22 Oct 2021

Nine held after major drug busts in Chiang Rai

Police have arrested nine members of a major drug trafficking gang in two cases and seized a total of 2 million speed pills, 67 kilogrammes of crystal methamphetamine and 7kg of heroin in Chiang Rai

22 Oct 2021

K-pop stars BTS leaving Sony for Universal

The K-pop boy band BTS is ending its distribution deal with Sony Music’s Columbia Records and will instead partner with Universal Music Group.

22 Oct 2021