PPRP poised to win most votes, Abhisit quits

PPRP poised to win most votes, Abhisit quits

A voter casts the ballot at polling station in Din Daeng district in Bangkok. (Photo by Patipat Janthong)
A voter casts the ballot at polling station in Din Daeng district in Bangkok. (Photo by Patipat Janthong)

The pro-regime Palang Pracharath Party looks set to win the most votes in the general election, followed by Pheu Thai and Future Forward, as vote count reached 92% at 10pm on Sunday.

However, with the mixed-member proportional representation (MMP) method used in calculating party-list seats, the total seats each party wins may be different and a party may not always translate into the most seats.

According to the unofficial results from the Election Commission, PPRP led with 7.5 million votes, followed by Pheu Thai (7 million), Future Forward (5.2 million), Democrat (3.19 million) and Bhumjaithai (3.17 million).

Vote turnout was 65.6%, or 33.7 million of all 51.4 eligible voters. The number of bad ballots was high at 1.9 million and the number of people who did not choose anyone (vote no) was half a million.

Democrat leader Abhisit announced his resignation at 9.50pm. He pledged to continue to dedicate himself to political work and thanked supporters.

Mr Abhisit had said earlier he would resign if the party won fewer than 100 seats.

“From now the decisions [whether to join a new government] will rest with party executives,” he said.

Mr Abhisit had said he would not support Gen Prayut Chan-o-cha, the PM candidate of PPRP as prime minister, but also said he had nothing against PPRP joining the Democrats under different conditions. 

The Democrats won no seats in its stronghold Bangkok. Of all 30 districts, 11 went to Pheu Thai (Bang Sue, Lat Phrao, Laksi, Don Muang, Sai Mai, Bang Khen, Bung Kum, Klong Sam Wa, Lat Kranag, Bang Bon and Phasicharoen).

PPRP won another 10 (Phra Nakhon, Sathon, Klong Toey, Phaya Thai, Bang Kapi, Min Buri, Nong Chok, Saphan Sung, Chom Thong and Bangkok Noi).

Future Forward won the remaining nine (Yannawa, Din Daeng, Suan Luang, Phra Khanong, Klong San, Thung Khru, Bang Kunthian, Tawee Wattana and Bang Kae).    

Do you like the content of this article?

Principal MD buys personal stake in Bumrungrad Hospital

Dr Satit Viddayakorn, managing director and chairman of the executive committee of publicly-held Principal Capital Plc admitted yesterday he personally entered into a deal to acquire 90.56 million shares of Bumrungrad Hospital (BH) at 103 baht apiece, worth a combined 9.32 billion baht, from Bangkok Dusit Medical Services (BDMS).


Indonesian minister among 17 arrested in corruption probe

JAKARTA: Indonesia's maritime and fisheries minister was arrested on Wednesday by the country's anti-graft agency, among 17 people detained in simultaneous swoops as part of a probe into alleged corruption in the export of baby lobsters.


'Reclaim the assets'

Thousands of pro-democracy protesters gathered outside the main office of the nation’s most valuable lender, in which the Crown Property Bureau is the biggest shareholder, as they push for more transparency and accountability from the monarchy.