Ex-MP jailed for false vote

Ex-MP jailed for false vote

The Supreme Court's Criminal Division for Holders of Political Positions on Friday sentenced former Pheu Thai MP Narisorn Thongthirach to 16 months in prison for casting votes for colleagues during House meetings in 2013.

The former Sakon Nakhon MP was indicted for misconduct under the anti-corruption law after the National Anti Corruption Commission found there were grounds to the allegations and forwarded the case to prosecutors.

A video clip showed Narisorn inserting several MPs' ID cards into an electronic voting device during a House vote in September 2013.

In its ruling, the Supreme Court said it reviewed the evidence and found the defendant committed the offence.

The court initially sentenced him to two years in prison but reduced the prison term to 16 months as his testimony was useful for the trial.

According to the court, the offence was serious and there was no reason to suspend the jail term.

Narisorn was previously impeached over this case by the National Legislative Assembly in 2016.

He was barred from holding political or government office for five years.

Last month the same court sentenced Thanikan Pornpongsaroj, a Bangkok MP for the ruling Palang Pracharath Party, to a year in prison and fined her 200,000 baht for having a colleague cast a vote on her behalf following a House debate in 2019.

Her prison term was suspended for two years.

She has appealed the ruling.

Do you like the content of this article?

Malaysia fights $15bn asset seizure bid

KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia has vowed to challenge a move by the heirs of a former sultan to seize its Dutch assets as part of the descendants’ efforts to enforce a US$15-billion arbitration award against the Malaysian state.


Prayut back in

The Constitutional Court rules that Prime Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha's 8-year tenure began on April 6, 2017, when the current charter took effect - allowing him two-and-a-half more years.


FLASH: Court rules in Prayut's favour

Constitutional Court rules that PM Prayut's tenure has not reached its 8-year limit because it started on April 6, 2017, when the present charter took effect.