Columnnist

Usnisa Sukhsvasti

Feature Editor

M.R. Usnisa Sukhsvasti is Bangkok Post’s features editor, a teacher at Chulalongkorn University and a social worker.

Usnisa Sukhsvasti
26 Oct 2017

True grit

We practised the special <i>dern plien thao</i> step, a slow, gliding movement. Then we had to go to the street and that is where the procession marchers must show their stuff.

26 Oct 2017 1
True grit
21 Dec 2015

Taking a bow

Today Breezy Monday will be taking a bow, as I embark on a new period of my life. It has been an amazing journey, and I hope you have enjoyed it as much as I have.

21 Dec 2015 1
14 Dec 2015

Learning to hear yourself think

Have you ever wondered why people say "I can't hear myself think"? It seems a juxtaposition of terms. Thinking, after all, is a silent personal action and would not make a noise you could hear, unless you're thinking with your mouth. Last week I discovered the meaning behind the phrase.

14 Dec 2015 1
7 Dec 2015

Four weddings and a lot of romance

With so much hatred in the world going on at the moment, I think it's time to talk about love.

7 Dec 2015
30 Nov 2015

Asking the eternal why?

I've just indulged in a few museum visits in London, an activity that doesn't often present itself in Thailand. 

30 Nov 2015 2
23 Nov 2015

A question of common sense

I've been asking the wrong question all my life. From the moment you embark on a professional career, you ask: "How high is my salary going to be?". My starting salary upon graduating was a mere pittance -- a couple of thousand baht for a bachelor's degree entrance level job in government service. That was more than a few years ago, mind you.

23 Nov 2015 2
16 Nov 2015

Bewitched, bothered and bewildered

I find it quite amusing and amazing how Thai people live their lives like planets orbiting around various stars. The stars I'm talking about are not the celestial kind, but stars in the entertainment industry. I'm not sure how many people could name any members of the current cabinet apart from the prime minister. But ask them about their favourite actors and actresses, they would come up with an immediate list, and tell you which television series they were in.

16 Nov 2015 5
9 Nov 2015

The quick fix bane of street food

Despite the proliferation of som tum carts in every nook and cranny of the city, do you realise how hard it is to find a really delicious som tum nowadays?

9 Nov 2015 3
2 Nov 2015

When enough is enough

Everyone is talking about a philosophical gem shared by The Voice Thailand judge Singto Numchok. This first-time judge, who is recognised by his fedora and ukulele, remarked to two contestants in the battle round, knowing that one of them would be sent home that day. "Someone asked me: 'If I hadn't been successful in music, what would I have done with my life?' I asked them back: 'What is your definition of success in music? Is it fame? Is it a hit song? Is that success, and is that the only way to achieve happiness?'

2 Nov 2015
26 Oct 2015

Sweeping dust under the carpet

There's been a lot of effort on the part of the Bangkok Metropolitan Administration (BMA) to "regulate" streetside vendors. Silom Road was a prime target area, followed by Saphan Lek and various other locations in the city. In some areas, not only were vendors using up pavement space to sell their wares, they had also erected semi-permanent structures with steel reinforcements.

26 Oct 2015 1