Busanan triumphs in Canada
text size

Busanan triumphs in Canada

Thailand's Busanan Ongbamrungphan.
Thailand's Busanan Ongbamrungphan.

Busanan Ongbamrungphan claimed her first title since 2022 by winning the US$420,000 (approx 15.3 million baht) BWF Canada Open in Calgary on Sunday.

The 28-year-old Thai star defeated Line Hojmark Kjaersfeldt of Denmark 21-16, 21-14 in the 53-minute final to win the women's singles crown of the World Tour Super 500 event.

Busanan is the second Thai player to win the title after Nitchaon Jindapol in 2013.

Busanan, who won her last tournament at the 2022 India Open, took home the $31,500 (1,150,000 baht) winner's cheque for her fourth World Tour title.

"Thank you for all the encouragement from everyone. I am very happy that today I can make many people smile and enjoy cheering me on," Busanan wrote on her Instagram post.

"Thank you coach Dom and @ontrackgym @coach_pean for believing in Cream [Busanan's nickname], paying attention to details, and helping improve my game and fitness to be able to get to this day. From the day that I had a lot of injury problems until now, it took a lot of patience and effort. Without a good team and good people around me, I couldn't have got through a very difficult period."

Koki Watanabe captured the men's singles title after the Japanese rallied to beat former champion Alex Lanier of France 20-22, 21-17, 21-6 to win his maiden World Tour Super 500 crown.

Denmark's Jesper Toft and Amalie Meglund also took home their first Super 500 title in only their third tournament together. They defeated compatriots Mathias Christiansen and Alexandra Boje 9-21, 24-22, 21-12 in the mixed doubles final.

Playing their third straight final, Toft and Magelund turned around near-certain defeat to Christiansen and Boje from 6-14 down in the second, to prevail 9-21, 24-22, 21-12.

Rin Iwanaga and Kie Nakanishi won their third straight title, adding the Canada Open to the Malaysia Masters and the US Open.

They landed the women's doubles crown after beating Hsu Yin-hui and Lin Jhih-yun of Taiwan 21-13, 21-13.

Kim Astrup and Anders Skaarup Rasmussen's bright season continued, with the Danish world No.2 pair winning their third title of the year beating Ben Lane and Sean Vendy of England 18-21 21-14 21-11 in the men's doubles decider.

Do you like the content of this article?