Four new Constitutional Court judges voted in by Senate

Four new Constitutional Court judges voted in by Senate

Four new Constitutional Court judges were selected by the Senate yesterday, according to a source in the Senate.

Five people were nominated to fill seats to be vacated by judges completing their nine-year term.

The five candidates were Udom Sitthiwirattham, Wiroon Saengthien, Jiraniti Hawanont, Noppadol Theppithak and Changthong Opassiriwit, said the source.

All except Mr Changthong received enough votes from the Senate to serve as new judges. He lost out in a Senate vote of 52 in favour to 139 against with 28 abstentions.

The Senate votes for the other four successful candidates were; 216 to 3 for Mr Udom, 216 to 3 for Mr Wiroon, 217 to 2 for Mr Jiraniti and 203 to 12 for Mr Noppadol, the source said.

Mr Udom, Mr Wiroon and Mr Jiraniti are senior judges in the Supreme Court. Mr Changthong serves as a judge in the Supreme Administrative Court while Mr Noppadol is a former deputy foreign affairs permanent secretary.

The candidates must receive at least 125 votes, or half of the Senate members, to secure a charter court berth.

The four new judges will work alongside four incumbent judges in the Constitutional Court.

The Senate will present the names for royal endorsement, although the new judges can start working right away.

The credentials of the candidates vying for the judge seats were earlier vetted by a selection panel while the vote itself was held behind closed doors.

Do you like the content of this article?

Outlook optimistic

The end of the Covid-19 pandemic could be near, as evidenced by the rapid-spreading but less-severe Omicron variant, according to the dean of the Faculty of Medicine Siriraj Hospital.


Singapore to return airspace near Changi to Indonesia

Indonesia and Singapore have settled a dispute over airspace and signed an extradition deal after years of disagreement.


Covid outbreak on ship threatens Tonga aid efforts

NUKU'ALOFA, Tonga: A Covid-19 outbreak on an Australian warship threatened to disrupt Tonga eruption aid efforts Tuesday, as survivors of the deadly volcanic blast described how they fled with only the clothes on their backs.