Supreme Court passes death sentence on Pattani bombers

Supreme Court passes death sentence on Pattani bombers

The Supreme Court has decreed the death penalty for six men convicted of a string of bombings and attempted bombings in central Pattani in 2016.

Facing the death sentence are Ibrohim Yosoh, Amri Lueyoh, Santi Chatharakul, Ayub Paolee, Isamae Tuyong and Noroning Nordeh.

They were among 10 people convicted of charges relating to bombings and attempted bombings in six incidents which occurred in downtown Pattani from June to December 2016.

The other four were Masun Salae, Abdulloh Hayee-uma, Hamid Jehma and Rusran Wahayee.

The Supreme Court sentenced Masun, Abdulloh and Rusran to life imprisonment and Hamid to 36 years and eight months in jail.

The six offences include planting a bomb near the central mosque in central Pattani on July 3, 2016 and the explosion at a noodle stall in the market on Pipit Road on Oct 24 that year.

The explosion killed one person dead and injured 20 others.

The 10 men were also found guilty for their roles in bombing two fishing trawlers in Muang district on June 18, 2016 and setting off a bomb at the JP furniture store in downtown Pattani the following day.

All, except Ayub, were arrested in December, 2016. Ayub was caught by the security forces on March 2, 2017.

The Supreme Court passed the death sentence after upholding the guilty ruling of the lower court.

According to the court, the men were convicted due to strong evidence and testimony  provided by key witnesses.

Two men were found to have possessed a firearm and acquired materials and equipment for assembling bombs.

Apart from the bombing and attempted bombing charges, the men were also charged with illegal assembly to commit a crime and colluding to amass firearms for the purpose of acts of terrorism.

Do you like the content of this article?

Hong Kong wants 80% jab rate before reopening

HONG KONG: Hong Kong will have to achieve a vaccination rate of at least 80% before it will consider reopening its borders to mainland China and the international community thereafter, The Standard reported, citing a top government official.


Thailand bans travel from 8 African countries

Thailand will ban entry of people travelling from eight African countries it designated as high-risk for the new omicron coronavirus variant, a senior health official said on Saturday.


Eight rescued, one missing after boat sinks off Songkhla

SONGKHLA: One person is missing and eight others were rescued when a speedboat carrying a team of divers capsized off Koh Noo, about one kilometre from Laem Samila beach, in Muang district on Saturday morning.