Cholnan becomes new Pheu Thai leader
text size

Cholnan becomes new Pheu Thai leader

Dr Cholnan Srikaew, a Nan MP, becomes the new Pheu Thai leader. (Photo supplied)
Dr Cholnan Srikaew, a Nan MP, becomes the new Pheu Thai leader. (Photo supplied)

Cholnan Srikaew, a Pheu Thai MP for Nan, has been elected the new leader of the Pheu Thai party, succeeding Sompong Amornvivat, by the party's general assembly in Khon Kaen.

Mr Sompong, 80, announced his decision to step down at the general assembly at around 1.30pm on Thursday. According to party regulations, the leader's resignation automatically ended the role of current executive board, forcing the election of a new team.

Dr Cholnan, 60, was the only candidate for the party's leadership. The five-time Nan MP was later elected by his peers to take the helm of the country's largest party.

The new leader then proposed a list of 23 members for the party’s executive board.

Apart from himself, they included four deputy leaders — Sutin Klungsaeng, Yutthaphong Charasathien, Chullaphan Amornvivat and Sorawong Thienthong.

Nakhon Ratchasima MP Prasert Chantararuangthong was re-elected the party’s secretary-general and he had eight deputies — Vorasit Kaltinan, a party MP for Ubon Ratchathani; Khunakorn Preechachanachai, a Surin MP; Chakkraphon Tansutthitham, a Chiang Mai MP; Nop Cheewanan, an Ayutthaya MP, Phaophum Rotjanasakul; Ms Arunee Kassayanon; Jeerawat Siripanit, an MP for Maha Sarakham; and Ms Monporn Charoensri, an MP for Nakhon Phanom.

Ms Theerarat Samretwanit, a Bangkok MP, became the party spokeswoman.

The party also picked a 15-member panel to screen MP candidates. Seven were from the executive board and four each from the party’s branch leaders and constituency representatives.

During the general assembly, Paetongtarn Shinawatra, the youngest daughter of former prime minister Thaksin, was appointed chief adviser to Pheu Thai for participation and innovation.

Dr Cholnan, who entered politics in 2001, served as a deputy public health minister for almost two years during the Yingluck Shinawatra government.

Do you like the content of this article?