Emergency decree rolls on in South
text size

Emergency decree rolls on in South

Deputy Prime Minister Prawit Wongsuwon has approved a further extension of the emergency decree in the three southern border provinces of Pattani, Yala and Narathiwat for another three months, from June 20 to Sept 19.

The 68th extension of the decree was made after an emergency management committee meeting, chaired by Gen Prawit, to provide updates on the insurgency in the three border provinces during the period from March 20 to May 5, according to his deputy spokesman, Lt Gen Patchasak Patirupanont.

An assessment, conducted by the Forward Command of Internal Security Operation Command (Isoc) Region 4, showed a decrease in violence in the area. State officials have also received cooperation from locals to help them carry out their tasks more efficiently.

As such, it was agreed at the meeting to de-list Yaring district of Pattani from the "dangerous zone" designation and impose the Internal Security Act 2008 instead.

The emergency decree was extended to keep locals and their properties out of harm's way while enabling officials to work efficiently, Lt Gen Patchasak said.

The extension covers the four districts of Sri Sakhon, Sungai Kolok, Waeng and Sukhirin in Narathiwat; the three districts of Yaring, Mai Kaen and Mae Lan in Pattani, and Betong and Kabang in Yala, Lt Gen Patchasak said.

He said Gen Prawit instructed Isoc Region 4's forward command to closely monitor the surveillance zone as it may still shelter insurgents despite having been downgraded from a dangerous zone.

Meanwhile, Deputy Defence Minister Chaichan Changmongkol said CCTV cameras will be installed across the provinces to help agencies handle any unexpected contingencies.

Do you like the content of this article?