India new visa rules benefit Thai travellers

India new visa rules benefit Thai travellers

NEW DELHI - Tourists travelling to India from 43 countries including Thailand will no longer have to queue at their local consulates to obtain visas after New Delhi announced Thursday a long-awaited easing of border controls.

Foreign tourists visit the landmark Red Fort, constructed in the 17th century by Mughal emperor Shah Jahan, in New Delhi. Tourists travelling to India from 43 countries including Thailand will no longer need visas to visit India. (AFP photo)

Tourists from countries including Australia, Brazil, Germany and Japan will now be able to apply online and then receive the green light within four days, before getting their visa at an airport on arrival.

Travellers from Cambodia, Singapore and Thailand are eligible for the new rules, NDTV reported.

Most foreigners currently have to wait several weeks before learning whether they will be allowed to enter India after submitting their applications at visa processing centres, a major deterrent for potential visitors.

"This scheme ... is a dream come true for the entire tourism industry of India and is bound to positively impact the economy," tourism minister Mahesh Sharma said in a statement.

"The government's objective is to boost tourism and this scheme's implementation will send out a clear message that India is serious about making travel to the country easy."

Plans for the overhaul were announced by the previous left-leaning Congress government which was thrown from office at elections in May.

The minister said the scheme would eventually be expanded from the list of 43 countries. Britain, India's former colonial master, is not included on the new list.

Under the old scheme, citizens of 12 countries were eligible for a visa on arrival.

Despite its cultural attractions, beaches and mountains, India attracts relatively few holidaymakers -- 6.58 million in 2012, a fraction of those who go to popular Asian destinations like Malaysia and Thailand.

India came 65 out of 140 countries in a World Economic Forum ranking on travel and tourism competitiveness conducted in 2013.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi's right-wing government has pledged to boost tourism numbers since his party stormed to office on a pledge to create jobs and revive the economy.

Under the scheme, tourists will be able to pick up their visas from nine Indian airports. Tourists can apply twice a year for 30-day visas which cannot be extended. Tourists must also have a return ticket.

"The facility is available to foreigners whose sole objective of visiting India is recreation, sightseeing, short duration medical treatment, casual business visit ... and not valid for any other purpose, activities," a tourism ministry statement said.

The nine airports are Bengaluru, Chennai, Kochi, Delhi, Goa, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Mumbai and Thiruvananthapuram, according to NDTV.

Do you like the content of this article?

BMA pleads with BTS to defer fare hike

The Bangkok Metropolitan Administration (BMA) is pleading with the Skytrain operator to put on hold a plan to raise fares by at least one baht from the first day of the New Year.


Crypto exchange Zipmex set for $100m buyout

The embattled cryptocurrency exchange Zipmex Asia is poised to be acquired by a venture capital fund for about US$100 million in digital coins and cash, one of the first rescues in Asia since a wave of defaults ripped through the sector.


Triad cash mystery

Police summons a former police officer and two women for questioning about the hidden assets of alleged Chinese triad leader “Tuhao", who is accused of involvement in the drug trade.